Hump Day – November 2, 2016

Yes, the middle of the week! Prime day for work and productivity. I am working on Step Up to Writing training and planning is difficult, as I haven’t done a half-day training before. I don’t have much to report, but wanted to check in to let you know I am still here!

Quick highlights from the past week:

The Project-Based Learning activity did not go as planned – students spent 6 weeks on it and didn’t generally have much to show for it. Not many even read the requirements, checked out my example, or looked at the rubric to see what they would be graded on. I will have to reflect further on this and figure out how to better structure PBL to get a good response. I would like to observe teachers using this model as well to see how they engage their students and organize lessons.

Also, the Save Caesar “breakout” or “escape room” scenario did not go well because students cheated and just looked for their clues without reading the hints. I will probably just put all of the clues in sealed envelopes next time, but it was so much work I am thinking it might not even be worth it to do it again.

Well, that’s it for now. I will be back again soon. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

