Antigone for Teens – August 30, 2016

So I spent about an hour of my day today creating a “Thinglink” (above) for the play Antigone by Sophocles. My goal was to make Antigone interesting for teenagers. I don’t think this looks really interesting, even with the little clicky button things (targets? triggers?) I was wondering how I would use this other than requiring students to click on it and write an essay or answer quiz questions.

I think the beauty of Thinglink is its ability to incorporate multiple types of media onto one image, and this capability would benefit students more than teachers. Wouldn’t it be more exciting to create a Thinglink and have to demonstrate all your knowledge in multiple areas rather than passively sit there and click on someone else’s? Students would better know their interests and be able to post media that captivates them. Maybe even allow them some freedom to depart from the assignment or prompt and allow them to go wild with a collage/Thinglink/other media type creation to create something inspired by the text or subject. What if we let them create Thinglinks that compare and contrast a photograph with a novel or something similar?

The other issue I have been dealing with today is using a Padlet to demonstrate student knowledge. I have no problems with Padlet – it’s a great tool for the classroom. The problem is that the students are not reading directions or listening in class when I outline the expectations for the assignment. Here is the result of my 10th graders’ search for examples of ethos, logos, and pathos on the internet: Rhetorical Appeals Padlet

I deleted many posts that were way off-task and a few that were blank. (Maybe I should have reviewed how to post, edit posts, and delete? I took for granted that I know these functions and maybe they didn’t.) You can see that some students thought they were supposed to write a definition (verbal and written directions notwithstanding) and others posted an image without explaining them. Others are just plain wrong. But we went over the Padlet at the end of class and discussed whether they were correct examples or why they weren’t. I would rate my lesson a C: not at the top of the charts, but decent enough that some kids learned something. Even if it’s that James Garner smokes weed.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

