Motivated – May 4, 2016

18069296879_00bd14aaf3Photo Credit: Antonio Marano via Compfight cc

The end is near…of the school year, that is! However, I am still motivated to continue with the engaging work I love as a “knowledge worker.” Today I revised the document I shared yesterday, adding more detail and restructuring the Endnotes page. The document is still available here: Revised Teacher Sample Research Narrative

Another project I completed today was creating a digital document of the rubric for the research narrative. I adjusted the last seven standards to be one standard “conventions,” though I left the categories of conventions to remain consistent so that teachers can check off which conventions standards in which the students were proficient. Here is the completed document: Digital Rubric Revised by Collins

I like what Peter Drucker said in 1992: “Knowledge workers have to manage themselves,” Drucker advised. “They have to have autonomy.” I agree: I love my coaching job. I feel productive and responsible while I am managing my time and projects on my own.

At the same time, I also want my work to be transparent and benefit our community as well, which is why I post on this blog and make most of the products I create available for free on Google Docs here on the blog and on Twitter.

Here is a great article from the Harvard Business Review on Drucker’s ideas: Drucker Article HBR – extensive look at Drucker’s pioneering philosophy (even before iPhones were invented!)

I also learned a little today about Bernard Weiner’s Attribution Theory: “Students with higher ratings of self-esteem and with higher school achievement tend to attribute success to internal, stable, uncontrollable factors such as ability, while they contribute failure to either internal, unstable, controllable factors such as effort, or external, uncontrollable factors such as task difficulty.” Seems like “self-fulfilling prophecy” wrapped in a marketable package, but who am I to judge? It is important and intriguing, and much respect to Mr. Weiner for articulating the theory.

I have learned that Attribution Theory is closely related to motivation and growth mindset. We need to believe that we can be successful if we perceive something to be worth our time. I have also noticed that the educators who most value growth mindset and student self-esteem and confidence may need support in developing their own. I am admitting here that I also can fall into the self-pity/envy/depression/self-doubt trap as well. However, learning more about the traits that can help us be successful can teach us how we can overcome this trap. To be trite (but still true): If you can believe it, you can achieve it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

