Tired – April 20, 2016

statue-100399_1280

We have special testing schedules this week, and boy, am I tired! Plus, something mysterious happens to all the nice kids when they have class end of the day and they become loud and rowdy.

My group had our accreditation committee meetings today and we proctor tomorrow, so I didn’t need to get up at 4 am and arrive at my room at 6:30. Oh well. At least my desks are in nice, neat rows for testing now.

We talked about how to improve our instruction by expanding time for teacher learning and professional development, as well as how to reach out to parents about the technology integration. Some other issues came up about teaching and instructional practices as well, that I may detail in depth at a later time.

Mostly, today I learned about “universal design” and how the idea of universal accessibility to content can help more students at varied levels get more out of their educations. This is something I would like to explore further. Additionally, I am interested in researching the procedures for eliminating grades and shifting to a standards-based, or portfolio-driven curriculum with possibilities for self-assessment.

More later!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

