Focused – March 16, 2016

So I have been working all day to get the PD done for Friday. I wanted to finish the packet so we could make the copies today. It took awhile for me to finish the PowerPoint and get the design how I wanted it, but it took way longer than necessary to get the packet done.

Now, I have some questions: why can’t you start numbering pages on the 3rd or 4th page? How come you can’t save a PDF as a word document or part of it as an image?  Do you need permission to use a copyright for a packet that will be distributed to high school bilingual language tutors? And finally, is there a way for the computer to go into my head to see the document I want but can’t remember what I named it or where I put it???

I spent a lot of time typing up checklists to help teachers get the structure of some different types of collaborative conversations. They were not in our checklist strategies folder.

I also thought graphic organizers for each conversation type would be readily available but I had to create two myself. Why? They have to be out there, but I guess I was searching the wrong keywords.

The other thing I have been thinking about is how to get teachers to think more about purposeful planning to use technology. I’m not sure how to do that, but it’s been on my mind. I saw a module on Twitter and thought about seeing if that would be a good option to train teachers:

Module 1: Set Up Your Haiku Page

Module 2: Write a lesson plan incorporating technology

Module 3: Teaching Digital Safety and Citizenship

Module 4: Google Apps for Education –  create a Goofle Doc, Google Form, Google Slide, Google Sheet, etc.

Module 5: Making a Website or Blog

Module 6: Navigating the Most Popular Apps and Sites: Kahoot!, Padlet,

Module 7: Organizing Your Favorite Links into a Symbaloo Page

ETC…should we have a Chromebook Online Class for students to ensure they get consistent curriculum and trainibg on tech? My brain is racing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

