February 23, 2016

What a whirlwind of a day!

My own students finished their narratives and wrote questions for pur Kahoot on Fahrenheit 451 while my other class took a survey to find out how much income they will need to live the lifestyle they want. All this is leading up to a TED Talk they will give next week in the theater. I can’t wait!

I was also fortunate enough to have 2 periods of wonderful honors students visit in my class today to learn about Chromebooks. Their teacher wanted them to play around a bit and gave them leeway to try out some new things. What an open-minded teacher focused on growth mindset, ready to embrace change for her students’ benefit.

The students were patient and respectful as I went through the explanations and warnings (don’t talk to strangers, don’t bully, and the district can trace every keystroke you type.) And they were so happy to try out the Chromebooks even though a couple of students were never able to login.

After school was wonderful, too, as I got to observe my long-time voluntary coachee navigate around Haiku, our learning platform. He kept asking questions that I didn’t know the answer to and then answered the questions himself, showing me the answer! Learning is an amazing thing.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

