February 4, 2016

I attended Diana and Lisa’s professional development on Collaborative Conversations in the morning. I was thrilled to participate with new colleagues in a variety of collaborative conversation formats. I was surprised at how many formats we were able to try in just three hours. One thing I learned is that there is a variety of approaches there can be to one strategy. For example, I had never thought to have a half-class socratic seminar. This would be much more engaging than just the five students who always participate dominating the class. Halfway through, the groups switched so that the outside group was comprised of all the students that were first in the center. This way, everyone had the opportunity to participate.

Technology has really forced us to adapt because now I need to formulate strategies to incorporate the Chromebooks while also balancing face-to-face conversation. I appreciated Lisa’s feedback and suggestions on how to promote this delicate balance.

In the afternoon I worked at the Ed. Center, formatting reminders, printing, catching up on emails and coaching log, updating website. I love this job!

Hours: 8:00 am – 3:00 pm

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

