January 15, 2016

Today I had the privilege of working with my principal and data team to determine the best way to report scores for the Units of Study. We worked together and had lively discussions around important topics, such as whether a score of 3 (proficient) would be 100% because it meets the standard, or would a 4 (advanced) be an A because it is exceptional, going above and beyond the requirements for a constructed response. It was really like being on a jury, where we discussed the arguments, created analogies, and asked important questions until we came to a consensus.

I was out of my classroom again today and I’m sure my students miss me. I hope they miss me as much as I miss them. I feel like I am two different people in this position; in the classroom I think it is a much more casual environment full of jokes and experimentation (especially with technology!) I think I am outgoing, understanding, approachable, and try to be funny (though mostly no one else thinks I am.) As a coach, I feel like I try to fit in with the professionals at the Ed Center and try my best to be informed and knowledgeable. The only advantage I have over any other teacher is that my position allows me the time to do professional reading and research. For example, I was able to take as much time as I needed to research inference. I didn’t know much about it, but that is the starting point. I was able to grow in knowledge and hopefully will be able to apply the knowledge when meeting with a coachee next week.

Half-day sub for official business meeting with Roberta, afternoon spent researching and planning ideas for teaching narrative.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

